## 3.3.1.8 Saskatchewan

The government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. On March 3, 1976 the Honourable George Porteous became Lieutenant Governor. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 61, elected for a maximum term of five years. As a result of the general election June 11, 1975, 39 New Democrats, 15 Liberals and seven Progressive Conservatives were elected to form Saskatchewan's 18th Legislature.

The Premier receives \$21,380 and each Cabinet Minister \$16,200 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity and allowance. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$16,200 plus an office allowance of \$35,000 per annum. The leader of a third party receives \$8,100 plus an office allowance of \$17,500 per annum, the Speaker \$6,050 and the Deputy Speaker \$3,630.

Each member of the Legislature is paid an annual indemnity of \$7,260, an expense allowance of \$6,480 and a sessional allowance of \$3,025. Each of the members for the two northernmost constituencies of Athabasca and Cumberland receives an \$8,260 annual indemnity and a \$6,730 expense allowance. Government and Opposition Whips are paid an annual allowance of \$1,210 each and legislative secretaries an annual allowance of \$3,000 each. The third party whip is paid an annual allowance of \$605.

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan in January 1977

- Premier and President of the Council, Hon. A.E. Blakeney
- Attorney General, Hon. R.J. Romanow Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. N. Vickar
- Minister of Finance, Hon. W.E. Smishek
- Minister of Labour, Hon. G.T. Snyder
- Minister of Government Services and
- Minister of Cooperation and Cooperative Development, Hon. E.B. Shillington
- Minister of Northern Saskatchewan, Hon. G.R. Bowerman
- Minister of the Environment and Minister of Telephones, Hon. N.E. Byers
- Minister of Continuing Education and Minister in charge of the Saskatchewan Transportation Company, Hon. D.L. Faris

- Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. G.S. MacMurchy
- Minister of Highways and Transportation, Hon. E. Kramer
- Provincial Secretary, Hon. E.L. Cowley
- Minister of Culture and Youth and Minister of Education, Hon. E.L. Tchorzewski
- Minister of Consumer Affairs, Hon. E.C. Whelan
- Minister of Health, Hon. W.A. Robbins
- Minister of Mineral Resources, Hon. J.R. Messer
- Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Edgar E. Kaeding
- Minister of Tourism and Renewable Resources, Hon. A.S. Matsalla
- Minister of Social Services, Hon. H.H. Rolfes.

## 3.3.1.9 Alberta

In addition to the Lieutenant Governor (since April 1974 the Honourable Ralph Steinhauer) the government of Alberta is composed of an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly of 75 members elected for a maximum of five years. On March 26, 1975, 69 Progressive Conservatives, four members of the Social Credit party, one of the New Democratic Party and one Independent-Social Credit member were elected to form the 18th Legislature.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$10,790, a \$5,395 expense allowance and \$40 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. In addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, the Speaker receives a salary of \$9,592 and the Deputy Speaker \$5,995. The salary of the Leader of the Opposition, in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, is \$26,378. The Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Leader of the Opposition also receive \$40 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the sessional indemnity and allowance the Premier receives \$32,373, other Ministers \$26,378 and Ministers without portfolio \$19,184.